« ΠροηγούμενηΣυνέχεια »
Portland stone, 60 feet high, towards Chancery Lane, erected on the site.
Sythe (St.), or St. OsYTH. [See St. Bennet Sherehog; Sise Lane.
Tabard (The). This celebrated inn of Southwark, always associated in our minds with Chaucer and the “Canterbury Pilgrims,” was built most probably in the 14th century, as a neighbouring inn, the Bear, certainly was. It was on the eastern side of the High Street (Long Southwark), exactly opposite St. Margaret's Church.
A tabard is a jaquet or sleeveless coat, worne of times past by Noblemen in the warres, but now only by Heraults, and is called theyre coate of Armes in servise. It is the signe of an Inn in Southwarke by London, within the which was the lodging of the Abbott of Hyde by Winchester. This was the Hostelry where Chaucer and the other Pilgrims met together, and with Henry Baily their hoste, accorded about the manner of their journey to Canterbury. And whereas through time it hath been much decaied, it is now by Master J. Preston, with the Abbot's house thereto adjoyned, newly repaired, and with convenient rooms much encreased, for the receipt of many guests. —Speght's Chaucer, fol. 1598, and see Stow, p. 154.
Befel that in that sesoun on a day,
Chaucer, Prologue to Canterbury Tales. In the great fire which broke out, May 26, 1676, and destroyed the Town Hall and above six houses, Chaucer's Tabard, which was situated in the midst of the part where the fire raged fiercest, was, there can be no doubt, destroyed. It was rebuilt, and probably nearly on the old lines, for, as it came down to our own day, it consisted of open wooden galleries with chambers behind, surrounding an open court, and a large room which continued to be called the Pilgrims' Room. But the landlord of the new house, deeming the Tabard too antiquated a sign, or perhaps unacquainted with its signification, changed the sign to The Talbot, and Betterton describes it under its new name in his modernised version of Chaucer's Prologue. The Tabard and The Talbot are two such distinct names, that a succeeding landlord found it necessary to distinguish Chaucer's inn by the following inscription on the frieze of the beams which hung across the road, and from the centre of which the sign was suspended : “This is the inne where Sir Jeffry Chaucer and the nine and twenty pilgrims lay in their journey to Canterbury, anno 1383." In 1763, when the signs of London were taken down, this inscription was set up over the gateway, but was painted out in 1831. As late as the middle of the 18th
century, plays were acted in “The Talbot Inn Yard” during Southwark Fair. Timothy Fielding had his “Great Theatrical Booth in the Talbot Inn Yard,” and played The Beggar's Opera, the parts “by the Company of Comedians from the new Theatre in Lincoln's Inn Fields,” with "all the songs and dances . as performed at ” that theatre, “during the time of the Fair” of 1728. Like most of the old inns, whose main dependence was on the coach and country waggon traffic, the Tabard suffered greatly from the introduction of railways. gradually fell into a dilapidated, dirty condition; the greater part of it was let for stables, carmen's warerooms, and railway stores. At length in 1873 it was sold by auction, and in 1875-1876 the whole was swept away. A new inn, The Old Tabard (No. 85 Boro' High Street), has been built, and the site of the old one is marked by Talbot Inn Yard, let out chiefly as hop-merchants' offices; and the name is further preserved in Tabard Street, of old notorious as Kent Street. The best and oldest view of The Tabard is in Urry's "Chaucer" (fol. 1721).1
Tabernacle Row, Tabernacle Square, Tabernacle Walk, City ROAD (east side) and FINSBURY, all derived their name from the original temporary preaching-place run up for George Whitefield on the west side of what was then called Windmill Hill, and is now Tabernacle Walk.
Shortly after Whitefield's separation from Wesley, some Calvinistic Dissenters built a large shed for him near the Foundry, upon a piece of ground which was lent for the purpose till he should return from America. From the temporary nature of the structure they called it a Tabernacle, in allusion to the movable place of worship of the Israelites during their journey in the wilderness ; and the name being in puritanical taste became the designation of all the chapels of the Calvinistic Methodists.--Southey's Life of Wesley.
The permanent Whitefield's Tabernacle stands on the north side of Tabernacle Row. Other of Whitefield's, or the Countess of Huntingdon's Tabernacles were in Spa Fields, Tottenham Court Road, etc. But there was a Tabernacle in London before that of Whitefield, and in it Bentley delivered his second series of Boyle Lectures.
December 3, 1693.—Mr. Bentley preach'd at the Tabernacle neere Golden Square.
[See Tenison's Chapel ; Whitefield's Tabernacle.]
Tallow Chandlers' Hall, No. 5, on the west side of Dowgate Hill. The Company, the twenty-first on the City list, was incorporated by Edward IV., but it had existed as a brotherhood for a considerable time previously. Henry VI. granted them arms and a crest in 1456, and Elizabeth added supporters. Both the grants are preserved in the Hall, the latter bearing the signature of William Camden, Clarencieux.
1 The Inns of Old Southwark, by William Rendle and Philip Norman, London, 1888, has a chapter devoted to the Tabard.
The old hall was destroyed in the Great Fire, and was rebuilt from the designs of Sir C. Wren in 1672. It is a large and handsome building, with a Tuscan colonnade, and was in great part rebuilt in 1871.
Tanfield Court, TEMPLE. These buildings were first erected by Henry Bradshaw, Treasurer, in 26 Henry VIII. (1534-1535), and were long known as Bradshaw's Rents. The present name is derived from Sir Laurence Tanfield, Chief Baron of the Exchequer in 1607,1 whose residence was here. His daughter was the mother of Lucius Carey, Lord Falkland, who inherited Tanfield's large fortune. At No. 3 lived Robert Keck, who bought the Chandos portrait of Shakespeare from Mrs. Barry. Keck died at Paris in 1719, leaving his chambers ("No 3 Tanfield Court, Temple") and the contents of them to his cousin, Francis Keck, of Great Tew, in Oxfordshire, Esq. On Sunday morning, February 4, 1732, Mrs. Lydia Duncombe, aged eighty, and Elizabeth Harrison, aged sixty, were found strangled, and their maid, Ann Price, aged seventeen, with her throat cut, in their beds, at a house in Tanfield Court. The laundress was Sarah Malcolm, who was executed for the murders, and whose portrait Hogarth painted in Newgate. He said afterwards, “This woman by her features is capable of any wickedness.” Sir James Thornhill accompanied him. [See Mitre Court.]
Tart Hall, “without the gate of St. James's Park, near Buckingham House,” was built (the new part at least) in 1638, by Nicholas Stone, the sculptor, for Alathea, Countess of Arundel, wife to Thomas, the magnificent Earl of Arundel, and descended to her second son, the unfortunate William, Lord Viscount Stafford, beheaded in 1680, on the perjured evidence of Titus Oates and others. The gateway was never again opened after the last time Lord Stafford passed through it. The house, after being for some time used as a place of entertainment, was taken down in 1720. A memory of it is still preserved in Stafford Row adjoining The name is difficult to account for. The adjoining Mulberry Garden was above all things famous for its tarts (see Mulberry Garden), and this, it has been suggested, gave rise to the popular name of this ancient mansion, but it would hardly account for the early and general use of the name.
The Committee of Lords being informed that some important papers were hid in a wall at Tart Hall, they sent to break it, and in a copper box found those which the Attorney-General says give more light into the plot than all they had formerly seen, but most particularly against the Lord Stafford.—Algernon Sidney's Letters to Henry Savile, p. 74.
The parish of St. Martin's-in-the-Fields crosseth James Street against Tart Hall, which it passeth through, and on the garden wall at the processioning there is a boy whipt (a custom used to remember the parish bounds), for which he hath some small matter, as about 2d., given him : the like custom is observed at or by Tyburn gallows. —Strype, B. vi. p. 67.
The remainder of the Arundelian Collection was preserved at Tart Hall, without the gate of St. James's Park, near Buckingham House. Those curiosities, too, were green taffeta.
i Dugdale's Origines Juridiciales, p. 146.
? Walpole's Anecdotes, vol. ii. p. 63.
sold by auction in 1720, and the house itself had been lately demolished. Dr. Mead bought the head of Homer, now in the British Museum. The sale produced £6535. -Walpole's Anecdotes, ed. Dallaway, vol. ii. p. 153.
Some carved seats, by Inigo Jones, were purchased from Tart Hall, and placed in a temple at Chiswick by Lord Burlington.—Ibid., vol. ii. p. 148.
Mr. Walpole, who saw Tart Hall at the time of the second sale, informed me that it was very large, and had a very venerable appearance.—Pennant.
Among the Harleian MSS. (No. 6272) is “A Memorial of all the Roomes at Tart Hall : And an Inventory of all the Household Stuffs and goods there, except of six Roomes at the north end of the ould Building (wch the Right Honorable the Countess of Arundell hath reserved unto her peculiar use) and Mr. Thomas Howard's closett, etc. : 8° September, 1641.” In the "Footmen's Hall,” were “Foure pictures hanging on the walls thereof - Ist. A Gundelowe; 2d. A Mountebanke; 3d. A Brave. 4th. King Henry 7, his wife and children.” “The Great Roome, or Hall,” was situated “next to the Banketing House.” My Lord's Room ” was hanged with yellow and
A closet on the west side had the floor covered with a carpet of yellow leather. The roof of one of the rooms was decorated
picture of the Fall of Phaëton." Mr. Arden's room was “hanged with Scotch plad.” Several pictures are mentioned with their artists' names—Diana and Actæon, by Titian (now in the Bridgewater Gallery ?); Jacob's Travelling, by Bassano (now at Hampton Court ?); A Martyrdom, by Tintoret; the Nativity of our Saviour, by Honthorst. No statues are mentioned. The site is marked in Faithorne's Map of London, 1658.
Tasel Close. (See Artillery Ground.]
An Elegy on the most execrable murder of Mr. Clun, one of the comedians of the Theatre Royal, who was robbed and most inhumanly killed, on Tuesday night, being the 2d August, 1664, neare Tatnam Court, as he was riding to his country. house at Kentish-town.—Hazlitt's Handbook of E. E. Lit., p. 112 B.
Tattersall's, in GROSVENOR PLACE, entered by a narrow lane, at the side of St. George's Hospital, was for many years a celebrated mart for the sale of horses, and so called after Richard Tattersall (d. 1795), originally a training groom to the second and last Duke of Kingston. Tattersall acquired the foundation of his fortune by the purchase, for £2500, of the celebrated horse “Highflyer." Here was a subscription room, under the supervision of the Jockey Club, and attended by all the patrons of the turf, from noblemen down to innkeepers; and the betting here regulated the betting throughout the country. The lease having run out the building was pulled down in 1866, and the site covered by the new wing of St. George's Hospital. Tattersall's was removed to Knightsbridge Green. [See Grosvenor Place; Knightsbridge.]
Flutter. Oh yes, I stopt at Tattersall's as I came by, and there I found Lord James Jessamy, Sir William Wilding and Mr. -:-Mrs. Cowley's Belle's Stratagem, p. 178.
Tavistock Place, between WOBURN Place and MARCHMONT STREET, was so called after the second title of the Dukes of Bedford, the ground landlords. It first appears in the Court Guide in 1807. Eminent Inhabitants. John Pinkerton, the historian, at No. 9; here his depraved mode of life was the cause of continual quarrels with abandoned women. Mary Anne Clarke, while mistress of the Duke of York, lived for some time at No. 31. Galt, the novelist, and Douce, the antiquary, lived at No. 32. Francis Baily, President of the Royal Astronomical Society, at No. 37, from 1825 till his death here, August 30, 1844.
The house stands isolated in a garden, so as to be free from any material tremor from passing carriages. A small observatory was constructed in the upper part. The building in which the earth was weighed and its bulk and figure calculated, the standard measure of the British nation perpetuated, and the pendulum experiments rescued from their chief source of inaccuracy, can never cease to be an object of interest to astronomers of future generations.—Sir John Herschel.
Here were held the weekly meetings of the society of distinguished and scientific men, chiefly mathematicians and astronomers, known as the Baily Club. The house was subsequently the residence of Sir Matthew Digby Wyatt, architect; until his death in 1877. John Britton, the antiquary, was long resident at No. 10; and Sir Harris Nicolas lived for some years at No. 19. 16 Tavistock Row, Covent GARDEN, a row of houses, fourteen in number, on the south side of Covent Garden Market, now (1890) entirely cleared away. In No. 4 lived Miss Martha Reay, the mistress of Lord Sandwich, killed in the Piazza (1779), by the Rev. James Hackman, in a fit of frantic jealousy.
A Sandwich favourite was this fair,
And her he dearly loved ;
This story fatal proved.
In Covent Garden shot her ;
Its hop'd he's not forgot her.
Imitations of the Ancient Ballad. Hackman was recruiting at Huntingdon; appeared at the ball; was asked by Lord Sandwich to Hinchinbrooke; was introduced to Miss Reay, became violently enamoured of her, made proposals, and was sent into Ireland, where his regiment was. He sold out ; took orders, but could not bend the inflexible fair in a black coat more than in a red. He could not live, he said, without her. He meant only to kill himself, and that in her presence; but seeing her coquet at the play with Macnamara, a young Irish Templar, he determined suddenly to dispatch her too. [See Tyburn.) In the upper part of the same house died, July 11, 1797, Charles Macklin, at the great age of ninety
Here the elder Mathews called to give the aged actor a taste