Εικόνες σελίδας
PDF
Ηλεκτρ. έκδοση
[blocks in formation]

the meeting-house in Miles's-lane, lately occupied by Dr. Addington. Under that article we have already spoken of Mr. Easton and his church. (M)

INDEPENDENT.

WILLIAM MOORE.--After the departure of Mr. Easton's congregation, the meeting-house in Red-Crossstreet was taken by Mr. William Moore. This gentleman had been settled some time at Falmouth, from whence he removed to London, and preached at an ancient meetinghouse in Glass-house-yard; but falling out with his people, he conducted the principal part of them to this place, in 1796. At Red-Cross-street he continued but little more than a year, when he accepted a call from the Independent congregation at Tisbury and Birdbush, in the county of Wills, and was set apart at the old meeting-house, June 14, 1797. The interest at Birdbush had been formed by the labours of the well-known Mr. Peter Ince, of whom a very extraordinary anecdote is recorded in the Nonconformist's Memorial.* Mr. Moore was continued with that people but a year and three months, when he was cut off by death, in the month of September, 1798, in the 49th year of his age. He was a man of respectable character, possessed agreeable pulpit talents, and was an useful, as well as evangelical preacher. He published at least three single ser

1. Occasioned by the decease of Mr. Andrew Gifford Gwennap, preached at Falmouth, August 29, 1790. Psa. cxix. 71.-2. Counsel from Heaven to God's People, in a Time of public Danger, or Calamity : preached at Glass-house-yard. 1799. Isa. xxvi. 20, 21.-3. Free-grace exalted, and the proper Use of the moral Law evinced : preached at Glass-house-yard, 1794. Rom. viii. 3, 4.

mon.

(M) See Vol. i. p. 519.

Noncon. Mem. vol. iii. p. 363.

[blocks in formation]

Mr. Moore's congregation dispersing, when he retired into the country, the meeting-house in Red-Cross-street was taken by a society of Christians who may properly be termed Baptist Sandemanians, as they agree with Mr. Sandeman upon all points excepting baptism, in which particular they follow the English Baptists. As they sprung originally from Scotland, and were composed chiefly of persons from that country, they are sometimes called Scotch Baptists ; but many English people are now members of this society, The founder and patron of this people is Mr. Archibald Maclean, who, more than half a century ago broke off from the church of Scotland, and united himself with Mr. Glas, and Mr. Sandeman. From these he afterwards separated upon the point of baptism; and formed a distinct society at Edinburgh, according to his altered views. Of this society he continues the respected pastor, or bishop, to the present day, and has distinguished binself by a long course of unwearicd labours in the service of Christ. His writings are well known and read in various parts of the united kingdom; and in defence of his distinguishing sentiments he has been engaged in controversy with Mr. Pirie, in Scotland, and Mr. Fuller, in England. Besides the society at Edinburgh, he formed others at Liverpool, Chester, Hull, Beverly, Nottingham, and the principal towns in England; and once in two or three years he visits and coufirms these different societies, of which he may be considered the Patriarch. At these seasons he also visits the metros polis.

About twenty five years ago, some few members of the society at Edinburgh having occasion to remove to London, associated privately for worship. Their numbers increasing, they first hired a school-room near Red-Lion-square ; and after about two years removed to a licensed room in Store-street, Tots

RED.CROSS-STREET.-Baptist Sandemanians,

tenham-court-road, which they held about the same period. They then hired the meeting-house at Glovers'-Hall, Beechlane, where they continued about eight years. As that place was old, and very much out of repair, they took a lease of Red-Cross-street meeting, in 1797; and this expire ing in 1808, they have since renewed it. The discipline in this church is conducted pretty much in the same manner as in other Sandemanian societies. They have two pastors, or bishops, who are Mr. Blakie and Mr. Jones, both men of respectable characters and good pulpit talents. In addition to these, Mr. Ballantine, who joined the church about a twelvemonth ago, with several other persons from Cateatonstreet, has lately been chosen Teacher, and takes his turn in preaching with the pastors. There is service three tinies on the Lord's-day, and a lecture on Thursdays. They dine together on the Sabbath ; break bread in the afternoon, and attend to the word of exhortation. The church is now in a Aourishing state, having lately received many additions. In some respects they have greatly the advantage over other Sandemanian societies. They do not appear to be so entirely fettered to a party, but cultivate a spirit of liberality; there is also more of the life and spirituality of religion to be found amongst their members; and they excel in understanding and explaining the scriptures. Though they still retain the kiss of charity at the admission of members, they do not lay so great a stress pon

it as some other churches akin in sentiment.*

* Private Information.

JEWIN-STREET.-Independent.

JEWIN-STREET.

INDEPENDENT.

Jewis-street

EWIN-Street was anciently called the Jew's Garden, and was the only burial place allowed them in England. But in the year 1177, Henry II. allowed them to have such a ground in any part where they dwelt. This spot belonged to the Jews till their first banishment out of the kingdom, when it was turned into fair garden plats, and summerhouses for pleasure. It afterwards had the name of Leyrestowe, and was granted by Edward I. to William De Mont Forte, dean of St. Paul's, being valued at forty shillings per annum.* In process of time, this ground became built upon, and thence was derived the name Jewin-street. In the reign of Charles II. the Nonconformists abounded in this neighbourhood, as they do at the present day; and, perhaps, there is scarcely a spot of ground of equal compass, in all London, where there are so many meeting-houses. After the general ejectment in 1662, Mr. Grimes, a Presbyterian minister, who came from Ireland, and sometimes went by the name of Chambers, it being no uncommon thing for the nonconformist ministers, in those persecuting tiines, to bear two names, for their greater safety, opened a meeting at the Cockpit, in Jewin-street. He continued preaching there during all the time of the plague, and was well known in the city; but after the dreadful fire which succeeded to that calamity, he was deprived of his meeting-house by a lawless banditti under the sanction of the government, and

Calamy's Acc. p. 57.

[blocks in formation]

it was converted to the use of the parish minister. Whether Mr. Grimes ever recovered it, or what became of him and his people asterwards, we cannot determine, as we find no further mention of him in history. The meeting-house in Jewiv-street, that stood upon the same spot as the present one, was built about the time of King Charles's Indulgence, in 1672, for Mr. William Jenkyn, a famous Presbyterian Divine, who is mentioned by Mr. Baxter as holding public meetings for divine worship after the fire of London. Whether he and Mr. Grimes preached to the same people seems uncertain. Mr. Jenkyn stands upon record as the first and last pastor of the society that he collected. Dr. Calamy has preserved a good account of him in print, which with some particulars related by other authors, we proceed to lay before the reader.

WILLIAM JENKYN, M. A.—This celebrated Presbyterian Divine was born in the year 1612, at Sudbury, in Suffolk. His grandfather was a gentleman of a considerable estate at Folkstone, in Kent. The eldest son of this gentleman, and the father of our author, being designed for the church, was sent to the University of Cambridge. There he was brought to his first sense of religion under the ministry of Mr. Perkins, and embarked with the Puritans. Upon his return home, his father, who greatly disliked that sort of people, discovering the change that had taken place, disinherited him of the principal part of his estate. Finding his company disagreeable at home, he removed to Wethersfield, in Essex, under the inspection of Mr. Richard Rogers, an old Puritan minister, and there prosecuted his studies with diligence. Being ordained, he was fixed as minister of Sudbury, in Suffolk, where he was signally successful to many, by preaching and catechising, and by exemplary conversation. There, he married the grand-daughter of Mr. John Rogers, the Proto-martyr in the days of

« ΠροηγούμενηΣυνέχεια »