« ΠροηγούμενηΣυνέχεια »
JEWIN-STREET — Presbyterian.
The meeting-house in Jewin-street, called the OLD Jewry CHAPEL, was lately erected for the use of the Presbyterian congregation, which assembled for upwards of a century, in a substantial building in the Old Jewry, but wbich they have been lately obliged to leave. The first stone of the new building was laid on Bartholomew-day O.S. September 5, 1808, a day memorable in the history of Protestant Dissenters; for on that day, in the year 1962, about two thousand ministers of excellent talents, learning, and character, were excluded from the church by the Act of Uniformity. Upon occasion of laying the first stone of this building, Dr. Rees, the pastor of the society, delivered an appropriate address, which was printed at the end of the second volume of the Doctor's sermons. It is also inserted in the “Monthly Repository” for November, 1808. After tracing the principles and sufferings of the Nonconformists through various periods, froin the reformation down to the time of passing the Act of Uniformity, in the persecuting reign of Charles II. he proceeds to take a brief historical view of his own church, which it will not be unsuitable to introduce in this place.
“ It was soon after the period to which we now refer, (says the Doctor) that our congregation had its rise. Mr. Edmund Calamy, the worthy son of Dr. (Mr.) Calamy, who was ejected from the church in Aldermanbury, and who was himself one of the ejected ministers under the act of Unifor. mity, laid the foundation of our society, by preaching, as often as the spies and myrmidons of power would allow, and
frequently at the risk of his own personal safety, in his own house, not far distant from his father's residence. Many of the pious and conscientious laity attended on such occasions ; and by degrees their number was so greatly augmented, that their minister's house was too small for their accommodation. When the declaration of Indulgence, intended more for the relief of others than for the advantage of Protestant Dissenters, took place in the year 1672, which, however, was soon recalled, Mr. Calamy opened a place of worship in C.rriers’-Hall, near Cripplegate. Here he was assiduous in his labours; and though he was eminently peaceful and candid in his own temper, and frequently declared his desire of a comprehension rather than a separation, he shared with his brethren in the trouble and expence of those persecuting times. Mr. Calamy died in 1685, and was succeeded by Mr. Samuel B »rfet, who was also one of the ejected ministers. The congregation, which had been gradually increasing, removed about this period, but I have not been able to ascertain the precise year, to a meeting-house in this street, not far from the spot on which we are now assenbled. The place sunk into decay, and the congregation increased under the eminent Mr. John Shower, well known by his popular sermons and tracts ; so that it became necessary to remove to a more spacious and commodious meeting-house in the Old Jewry. Our predecessors were at a great expence in erecting that building, and sheltering it from public notice and consequent danger, by dwelling-houses fronting the street: they removed thither in the year 1701; and it has been occupied ever since by a congregation, to say the least of it, as respectable for the number, character, rank, and opulence of its members, as any one in the city of London. Of its ministers I shall only mention Mr. Simon Brown, whose singular case is well known, and Dr. Samuel Chandler, one of the most learned men of the period in which he lived, whose services in the cause of Christianity
and Christian liberty, commanded great attention and res. pect, and can never be forgotten. At length it became pecessary, on account of occurrences, unsought for aud unavoidable, and well known to those who hear me, to relinquish that situation, much as it was wished to retain it, and notwithstanding renewed efforts for this purpose; and to seek for another, in which we might erect an edifice, under the direction of a skilful architect, without fear of further dispossession.”
After a lapse of fifteen months from the period when the foundation-stone was laid, the meeting-house was thoroughly completed, and opened by Dr. Rees, on the 10th of Dec. 1809. The discourse upon that occasion, which was founded on Nehemiah x. 32. We will not forsake the house of our God, and delivered to an overflowing audience, has since been printed. It is entitled, “ The Obligation and Utility of public Worship.” As to the building, it is large and substantial, of the octagonal form, and presents a tasty appearance. The inside is fitted up with peculiar neatness and elegance, but without any superfluous affectation of grandeur. The pulpit is of a peculiar construction, and may with greater propriety be called a desk, being open op each side, and elevated from the floor but a few steps. There is a large gallery, which extends round about twothirds of the building. On the front of the meeting-house, there is a stone with the inscription OLD JEWRY CHAPEL, Unlike the buildings erected by our forefathers, who sought obscurity, and concealed themselves in holes and corners, the present place forms a conspicuous ornament to the street. The avenue to it is fenced with iron railings, and the entrance equally tasty with other parts of the building. It is a circumstance rather remarkable, that this society, after an absence of more than a century, should return back to the same street where they assembled for several years for sublic worship, under the ministry of the excellent Mr. Johp
Shower. As we have already given a large account of this church under the article OLD JEWRY, we must refer for further particulars to that place,
In the course of last year, a new meeting-house wa erected in Aldersgate-street, opposite to Westmorlandbuildings, for a congregation of Calvinistic Methodists, who have for their pastor a Mr. Thomas MADDEN. Prior to the building of the present place, they assembled for public worship in a large room belonging to Shaftesbury-house, formerly the mansion of the Earls of that name, but who have long since removed their residence to the west end of the town. It was originally called Thanet-House, being built for the noble family of the Earls of Thanet. From them it passed to the Earls of Shaftesbury. In 1736, it was used as a tavern, and made to serve other mechanical purposes. It was afterwards converted into a lying-in hospital for married women, instituted March 30, 1750. That part where the chapel is situated, is at present the property of a grocer, who occupies the lower part of the premises. The access to the chapel is from Shaftesbury-place, and it was converted into a place of worship for Mr. Madden, who opened it sometime in the year 1804. Previous to this, he had preached a few years in Bartholomew-close, where he first collected his people. Shaftesbury-chapel is an awkward,
TRINITY-HALL, ALDERSGATE-STREET.-Nonjurors, Extinct.
irregular" building, and as the people paid a heavy rent for it, they determined upon erecting a new meeting-house, which they have done within a few yards from the old place. The present meeting-house is a large, substantial, brickbuilding, of an oblong form, with three galleries. The worship is conducted as nearly as possible upon the plan of the establishment; the liturgy being read, and the people using instrumental music. The congregation is very numerous, though chiefly of the poorer sort. Mr. Madden came out under the patronage of the late Mr. Wills, for whom he sonetimes preached at Islington, and at Silver-street. But after the removal of his patron, he collected a congregation, and is now very popular.
I Aldersgate-street, near the north-end corner of Little Britain, anciently stood an hospital, hall, or priory, belonging to the abbots of Clugni in France ; which, among other alien foundations, was suppressed by Henry V. The king granted its revenues to the parishioners of St. Botolph's, on condition that they should found in their church a fraternity, or altar, dedicated to the Holy Trinity. The site of this ancient religious house still remains, by the name of TrinityHall, and several tenements in Trinity-lane, in the possession of the parish. Part of the building, also, was standing some years ago. The lower part was let out for a coffee-house ;