« ΠροηγούμενηΣυνέχεια »
of this church between 1681 and 1686. Lancelot Andrewes, Bishop of Winchester, was born in this parish, 1555.
Allhallows, BREAD STREET, a church in Bread Street Ward, at the corner of Bread Street and Watling Street, erected from designs by Sir C. Wren, 1680-1684, for £3348: 7:2. It was 72 feet long, 35 wide, and 30 high, and had a tower 86 feet high. The style was semi-classic. Inside was some good carving. Among the rectors have been-William Lyndwood, Bishop of St. David's, and keeper of the Privy Purse to Henry V. (d. 1446); Thomas Langton, Archbishop of Canterbury, and benefactor of Pembroke, Clare, and Queen's Colleges, Oxford (d. 1500); Robert Horne, Dean of Durham and Bishop of Winchester (d. 1580); and Edward Fowler, Bishop of Gloucester. Lawrence Saunders, collated to the living by Archbishop Cranmer in 1553, was arrested by order of Bonner, and, after lying in prison for fifteen months, burned for heresy, February 8, 1555. His successor in the rectory was Bonner's chaplain, William Chedsey, who was, however, ejected on the accession of Elizabeth. There is a tablet to Saunders in the vestry. Sir Arthur Haselrigg was married at this church, June 26, 1634.
In Harl. MS., No. 6191 (f. 22), is a warrant (dated October 27, 1552), to pay "Mr. Knox, Preacher in the north,” the sum of £40, and also a letter (dated February 2, 1552-1553) to the Archbishop of Canterbury, “in favour of Mr. Knox, to be presented to the vicaridge or parsonage of Allhallowes in Bread Street, in his disposition by the preferment of Thomas Sampson to the Deanery of Chichester.” The old church, in which Milton was baptized, was destroyed in the Great Fire, but the register preserves the entry of the poet's baptism.
The xxth daye of December, 1608, was baptized John the sonne of John Milton, scrivener.
On the external wall of the church, about 6 feet from the ground, was a tablet, with the following inscription, which is now fixed on w church :
Three poets in three distant ages born,
John Milton was born in Bread Street on Friday, the 9th day of December, 1608, and was baptized in the parish church of All Hallows, Bread Street, on Tuesday, the 20th day of December 1608.
The great non-conformist divine, John Howe, was buried here in 1705.
Stow gives a list of some of the monuments in the old church.
More to be noted of this church, which had a fair spired steeple of stone. In the year 1559, the 5th of September, about mid-day fell a great tempest of lightning, with a terrible clap of thunder, which struck the said spire about 9 or 10 feet beneath the top ; out of the which place fell a stone that slew a dog and overthrew
a man that was playing with the dog. The same spire being but little damnified thereby, was shortly after taken down, for sparing the changes of reparation.-Stow's Survey, 1603.
Wren's church has disappeared as entirely as its predecessor. In 1876 the Ecclesiastical Commissioners decided to demolish Allhallows Church, sell the site, and appropriate a portion of the proceeds to the erection of a new Allhallows Church beyond the city, but within the limits of the Metropolis ; the rectory of Allhallows, Bread Street, being joined to the united rectory of St. Mary-le-Bow, St. Pancras, Soper Lane, Allhallows, Honey Lane, and St. John the Evangelist.
Accordingly, the ceremony of “deconsecration," as it was called, was performed in Allhallows Church on Thursday, October 19, 1876, by Bishop Piers Claughton, who preached a sermon from Luke ix. 59. The Lord Mayor and Sheriffs attended the service in state. In the course of the service a man stood up and exclaimed, “I protest against this service as a farce ;" but he was at once removed from the church by the police. · The remains of the dead were removed from their graves, and reinterred in Ilford Cemetery. The materials were sold and the church demolished in the autumn of 1877; and on March 20, 1878, the site, which, the auctioneer said, contained "a ground area of 3270 'superficial feet,” was sold at the Auction Mart for £32,254. ' £4000 of this has been appropriated for the augmentation of the endowment of the proposed church of Allhallows, East India Docks. A massive block of warehouses has been built on the site, and a tablet placed on the corner house with the inscription "John Milton, born in Bread Street, 1608; baptized in the church of Allhallows which stood on this spot.”
Allhallows the Great, a church in UPPER THAMES STREET, immediately east of the South-Eastern Railway Station. Stow calls it ALLHALLOWS THE MORE (for a difference from Allhallows the Less, in the same street). The church was erected in 1683, from a design by Sir Christopher Wren, at a cost of £5641. It is 87 feet long, 60 feet broad, and 33 feet high, and is of the Tuscan order. The tower, of five stages, which stood on the north side of the church, was said to owe its peculiar character to the builder, who improved on Wren's design ; it was taken down in 1876, in order to widen Upper Thames Street. A new tower and vestry were built on the south side of the church, the interior was entirely renewed, and the church was reopened, October 18, 1877. The old church, destroyed in the Great Fire, was also known as “Allhallows-in-the-Ropery,” from the ropes made and sold near thereunto at Hay Wharf, and in the High Street. The interior is remarkable for a carved oak screen, extending across the whole width of the church; manufactured, it is said, at Hamburg, and presented to the church by the Hanse merchants in memory of the former connection which existed between them and this country. No mention of the date of presentation appears in the parish books. (See Steelyard.] Pepys speaks of Allhallows the Great as one of the first
churches that set up the King's Arms before the Restoration, while Monk and Montagu were as yet undecided. Edward Strong, Bishop of Chichester, 1477, who erected Chichester Cross, was rector. So also were George Day, Bishop of Chichester, 1543 ; Thomas White, Bishop of Peterborough, 1685; William Cave (d. 1713), the learned author of the Lives of the Fathers, and William Vincent (d. 1815), the famed master of Westminster School. Theodore Jacobsen (d. 1772), to whom is attributed the plan of the Foundling Hospital, is buried in this church. The Jacobsens, at the time of the Great Fire, possessed considerable property in the neighbourhood of the Steelyard. The church serves as well for Allhallows the Less, and the right of presentation to the rectory of both parishes belongs to the Archbishop of Canterbury.
About the beginning of April, 1553, Knox returned to London. In February preceding Archbishop Cranmer had been desired by the Council to present him to the vacant living of Allhallows, in that city, which Knox declined. —M'Crie, Life of John Knox.
Allhallows the Less, or, AllHALLOWS ON THE CELLARS, in UPPER THAMES STREET ; a church in Dowgate Ward, destroyed in the Great Fire, and not rebuilt. It was called "the Less” to distinguish it from the foregoing, which was close beside it; and “on the Cellars," from the vaults or arches on which it stood.
The steeple and choir of this church standeth on an arched gate, being the entry to a great house called Coldharbrough.--Stow, p. 88.
The churchyard is on the south side of Thames Street. The church of the parish is Allhallows the Great, above mentioned.
Allhallows, HONEY LANE, a small parish church in the ward of Cheap, destroyed in the Great Fire, and not rebuilt, but united to St. Mary-le-Bow. It stood at the east end of the site of Honey Lane Market, “near the place where the Standard in Cheapside stood.”— De Laune, ed. 1690, p. 28.
I find that John Norman, draper, Mayor 1453, was buried there.... This John Norman was the first Mayor that was rowed to Westminster by water, for before that they rode on horseback.–Stow, pp. 102, 192.
Thomas Garret, the Martyr (1540), was curate of this church. Foxe, vol. v. p. 427. In 1528, when Garret escaped from Oxford, Dr. John London, Warden of New College, wrote to Archbishop Wareham, “ The Commissary being in extreme pensiveness, knew no other remedy but this extraordinary, and caused a figure to be made by one expert in astronomy; and his judgment doth continually persist upon this, that he fled in tawny coat south-eastward, and is in the middle of London, and will shortly to the sea-side. He was curate to the parson of Honey Lane. It is likely he is privily cloaked there.” The “parson of Honey Lane” was Dr. Norman, who had himself been in trouble for heresy.
Allhallows, LOMBARD STREET, or ALLHALLOWS GRASS CHURCH,
Froude, vol. i. p. 63.
a church situated in Ball Alley, with the entrance from Lombard Street, in Langbourne Ward. It was destroyed in the Great Fire of 1666, and rebuilt by Sir C. Wren, in a plain and unpretending style, in, 1694 It cost £8058; and is 641 feet long, 521 wide, and 36 high, with a square tower 105 feet high to the top of the balustrade. Restored 1870 at a great cost. Reopened January 1871. It is united with St. Benet's, Gracechurch Street, and St. Leonard's, Eastcheap, sometimes known as Forechurch, as distinguished from St. Dionis, which is styled Backchurch. The right of presentation belongs to the Dean and Chapter of Canterbury. Alexander Barclay, author of The Ship of Fools (d. August 24, 1552), rector of Allhallows, Lombard Street. Here is a monument to Dr. Edward Tyson (d. 1708), the Carus of Garth's Dispensary. On Good Friday about sixty of the younger boys of Christ's Hospital attend at this church, and after the service receive each a new penny and a small packet of almonds and raisins, the bequest of Peter Symonds in the 16th century; from the same fund the rector receives a guinea for preaching the sermon.
Allhallows in the Wall, a church in London Wall, Broad Street Ward, designed by George Dance junior, in 1765, and so called “of standing close to the wall of the city.”! The old church escaped the Fire, but in 1764 had become so dangerously dilapidated that an Act of Parliament was obtained for its removal, and the present mean building erected at a cost of £2941. It was consecrated September 8, 1767In the chancel is a tablet to the Rev. William Beloe, the translator of Herodotus, and twenty years rector of this parish (d. 1817). The Rev. Robert Nares, so well known by his Glossary, was his successor in the living (d. 1829). Over the communion table is a copy, by Sir Nathaniel Dance Holland, of P. da Cortona's picture of Ananias restoring Paul to Sight, a present from the painter. The living is valued at £1700; the right of nomination is in the Lord Chancellor. The register records the marriage, December 26, 1588, of Sir Francis Knowlles [Knollys) Knt., and Mrs. Lettice Barratt.
Allhallows Staining, in LANGBOURNE WARD, or ALLHALLOWS IN MARK LANE.
Commonly called Stane Church (as may be supposed) for a difference from other churches of that name in this city, which of old time were built of timber, and since were built of stone. -Stow, p. 77.
The old church escaped the Fire, but fell down, all but the tower, in 1761. The living was, in 1870, united to the rectory of St. Olave, Hart Street, and the church pulled down with the exception of the tower. The site was purchased by the Clothworkers' Company, the back of whose hall looks on to the churchyard, and whose lessees erected a large block of offices on the site of the church. Part of the churchyard has been laid out as a garden, and is to be kept unbuilt upon "for ever.” From the endowments and proceeds of the site three
· Stow, p. 66.
new churches have been built and endowed within six miles of St. Paul's Cathedral, one of these is Allhallows Bromley, by Bow, and the second St. Anthony, Stepney. The Scottish patriot, Sir William Wallace, was lodged as a prisoner, on his first arrival in London, in the house of William de Leyre, a citizen in the parish of All Saints, Fenchurch Street, i.e. Allhallows Staining, at the end of Fenchurch Street. Queen Elizabeth, it is said, attended service here on her release from the Tower in 1554, and dined off pork and peas afterwards, at the King's Head, in Fenchurch Street. [But see Fenchurch Street.] Allhallows Staining was one of the four London churches in which King James II.'s Second Declaration of Indulgence was read. The rector was Timothy Hall, “a wretch," as Macaulay calls him, made Bishop of Oxford by the King for his zeal and forwardness on this occasion. The churchwardens' Accounts exhibit a payment to the bell-ringers for ringing the bells for joy on King James's return from Feversham, and a further payment two days after for ringing a joyful peal on the arrival of the Prince of Orange. When the church was pulled down the monuments were removed to St. Olave's, where they were re-erected.
All Saints, the churches dedicated to Allhallows are frequently referred to in old documents under the form of All Saints.
All Saints, MARGARET STREET, one of the most beautiful of modern London churches, was built in 1850-1859 (W. Butterfield, architect), the first stone being laid by Dr. Pusey on All Saints' Day, November 1, 1850. The spire is a very striking object, and rises to the height of 227 feet. The frescoes in the chancel were painted by W. Dyce, R.A., and the painted windows were by Gerente of Paris. The Church occupies the site of Margaret Street Chapel, which may be considered as the cradle of the High Church movement in London. Its cost is said to have been about £70,000.
All Souls' Church, LANGHAM PLACE, was built from the designs of John Nash, at the contract price of £15,994, but alterations etc. amounted to £1719:10s. The foundation-stone was laid November 18, 1822. Consecrated November 25, 1824. A circular portico nearly surrounds the circular tower, which is surmounted by a pointed spire, which has been commonly likened to a candle extinguisher. The altar picture is Christ crowned with Thorns, by R. Westall, R.A.
Alleyn's Alms Houses. There are three sets of alms-houses in London built and endowed by Edward Alleyn (d. 1626), the celebrated actor, and founder of God's Gift College at Dulwich : 1. in Lamb Alley, Bishopsgate Street, removed there from Petty France in 1730 ; 2. in Bath Street (formerly Pest House Lane), City Road (between Nos. 30 and 31); 3. in Soap Yard, Deadman's Place, now called Park Street, Borough Market. The first brick of the alms-houses in Bath Street was laid by Alleyn himself on
i Compare Stow, by Howes, ed. 1631, p. 209.