« ΠροηγούμενηΣυνέχεια »
and great advantages from that visit. They had had an exceedingly pleasant time on account of the great kindness received on all hands. He was sure all the members of that Congress felt deeply indebted to all those wlio had so kindly assisted to make their visit to the city both profitable and pleasant. He therefore proposed, “That the best thanks of this Congress be presented to the Most Hon. the Marquess of Ripon, K.G., to the Right Hon. the Lord Mayor and Corporation of this city, to the Very Rev. the Dean of York, the Chapter of York Minster, to the Local Committee, and to the clergy of the various churches visited by the members of this Congress, for the kind reception and valuable service which they have rendered to the British Archæological Association throughout their very pleasant visit to the City of York during the present week.”
Dr. Bensley, of Norwich, seconded the propositior., which was carried unanimously.
Major Lambert proposed a vote of sympathy with the Lord Mayor and the Town Clerk in their illnesses, and trusted that both gentlemen would be speedily restored to health and strength.
The motion was unanimously adopted.
Mr. W. H. Cope, V.P., F.S.A., proposed a vote of thanks to Canon Raine for presiding over the meetings, and for the urbanity he had displayed, and the valuable information he had afforded on subjects that had come before the Congress.
Mr. Wyon seconded, and the vote was carried with acclamation.
Canon Raine, in replying, said that the citizens of York would have pleasant recollections of the visit of the Association, and he hoped the Association would not forget to renew its visit to this city, where it would be extremely welcome.
The meeting then terminated.
SATURDAY, 22ND AUGUST 1891.
This day the members paid a visit to the Benedictine Abbey of Selby, the choir of which is now uudergoing restoration. On arrival the vicar of Selby conducted them into the church. Mr. J. P. Pritchett, of Darlington, at once proceeded to describe the varied architectural beauties of the Abbey. His paper on the Abbey Church will be printed hereafter. The Rev. A. G. Tweedie then conducted the party through the choir, which is of the Decorated period.
The visitors then proceeded to Howden.
Rev. Wm. Hutchinson, vicar of Howden, read an interesting paper, which we hope to print hereafter.
During the afternoon the party returned to Selby, where they stayed for luncheon, returning to York about four o'clock,
The Congress concluded its sittings in the Guildhall on Saturday evening, when Canon Raine again presided.
Mr. Brock at the outset drew attention to the curious pieces of rifleordnance which were lying between the Mansion House and the Guildhall. There were three or four most interesting examples of very ancient ordnance of the time of Henry V or VII,one piece being the precursor of the breechloader of to-day. They would observe a large aperture in which the charge of powder was put, and would notice how ingeniously the top of the cannon was prepared in order that the ball, whether of stone or of iron, might be dropped down from the top. The piece was formed of rolls of iron welded together very much in the manner of armour-plate of the present time. The city ought to take care of the pieces.
A paper on “The Brasses of the Archbishops of York”, by Mr. A. Oliver, was read, to be printed hereafter.
On Monday, the 24th, a visit was paid to Scarborough, where the party was received by the officials of the Scarborough Philosophical Society in the Museum. After luncheon they proceeded, under the guidance of Mr. John H. Phillipps, to the ancient Castle, where some recently discovered foundations, which have been excavated within the Castle walls, were inspected. These were found to be of moderate antiquity, since Norman fragments had been used as old material.
The site of the Castle Chapel, shown in the copy of an ancient map of the town in the Museum, was pointed out. Its site would repay the labour of excavation, since the foundations come quite up to the surface. There is a spring of water close to the west front.
A visit was then paid to the ancient parish church of St. Mary, where the party was received by the Bishop of Hull, who courteously traced the history of the fabric. He was followed by Mr. E. P. Loftus Brock, who pointed out some of the many curious architectural features.
The proceedings were concluded by a reception given by the Scarborough Society to the party at the Museum, where the members separated after many expressions of hearty good will; and thus terminated one of the most agreeable and instructive Congresses ever held by the Association.
Proceedings of the Association.
WEDNESDAY, 6Th Jan. 1892.
C. H. Compron, Esq., V.P., IN THE CHAIR. The following members were elected :
Rev. W. Slater Sykes, M.A., 27 Harlock Street, Sheffield
J. Shewell Corder, Esq., Wimborne House, Ipswich. John H. Phillipps, Esq., was elected Local Member of Council for Yorkshire.
Thanks were ordered to be returned to the respective donors of the following presents : To Percy G. Stone, Esq., F.R.I.B.A., for “ Architectural Antiquities of
the Isle of Wight.” Part III. To the Society, for “ Collections Historical and Archæological relating to Montgomeryshire,” vol. xxv, Part III. Nov. 1891.
for “Report of the Statutory Ninth Congress of Orientalists held in London, 1 to 10 Sept. 1891."
for “ Bulletin Historique de la Société des Antiquaires de Morinie.” Fortieth
year. Pts. 157, 158. To the Author, for “ Enquiry into the Ethnology of Afghanistan.” By H. W. Bellew, Esq., C.S.I.
for“ Les Chartes de Ste. Bertin." Par M. L'Abbé Daniel Haiguerré,” tom. ii. St. Omer. 4to. Mr. B. Winstone, M.D., exbibited a milk-white glass medallion-portrait of Sir Hans Sloane, Bart., and gave some particulars of the biography of that illustrious personage.
Mr. Winstone also exhibited one of the office-books of the Com. missioners of the River Stort, running between Essex and Hertfordshire, containing minutes of their proceedings from 1728 to 1760.
The Chairman exhibited some rubbings of brasses which are preserved in the church of Ringwould, near Walmer, Kent. The finest of these commemorates John Upton, in civilian costume, A.D. 1530,
Mr. J. M. Wood exhibited some mortar from the Roman Wall at Colchester, showing the fine, bard, cement-like character which Roman mortars possess.
Mr. Wood also exhibited a cross-section of leaden piping, 6 ins. in diameter, as a specimen of the pipes laid down by Sir Hugh Middleton in his original works for the New River, 1616-30. Recent alterations by the New River Company, in the neighbourhood of Sadler's Wells, have revealed a considerable length of this pipe, which is formed of metal about half an inch thick, and of very fine quality; not drawn or cast, but apparently formed of plates of metal hammered into shape on a swage or mandril, and united by some method not as yet clearly understood; which is, at any rate, not soldering. This interesting specimen of the plumbing art deserves to be further investigated.
Mr. H. Watling, of Ipswich, cominunicated tracings of curious in. scriptions found upon the pillars of the Church of St. Clement, Ipswich. They consist of Roman and Arabic numerals, initial letters, and rude drawings of ships. The date of 1606 occurs among them, and they all appear to be about this age.
Mr. R. Earle Way exhibited a collection of mediæval antiquities recently recovered from the neighbourhood of the Borough. They consisted of fragments of Samian pottery and bronze figurine, some coins and tokens, a large string of fine blue spherical beads of the Roman style, a horn staff-bandle carved with a cockle-shell, and an Upchurch vase.
Mr. W. de Gray Birch, F.S.A., Hon. Sec., read a paper on "Archæology in Derbyshire", by Mr. Andreas E. Cokayne, F.S.A. (which it is hoped will be printed hereafter in the Journal), chiefly dealing with prehistoric caves and earliest evidences of mankind in the district.
The Chairman read a note on the date of the foundation of Furness Abbey, by way of appendix to his paper on Rievaulx Abbey, read during the recent Congress at York.
The Chairman also read the following:
Find OF ROMAN REMAINS AT CAERLEON.
BY A. C. FRYER, ESQ.
While digging the foundations for a residence which Mr. Thomas Parry has been building on the Common, Caerleon, a number of remains of the Roman occupation have been recently uncovered. These included a large number of tiles. The greater proportion are rooftiles, and are marked Leg ĪT AVG. Several of the large tiles bave the well-known marks of sandals upon them, and the four feet of a fox can be traced upon one. These impressions must have been made before the tiles were baked. A number of fragments of Roman poto
tery have also been discovered, consisting of coarse Samian ware and other dark and red pottery. These fragments appear to have been amphoræ, ampullæ, and mortaria. There is one small piece of glass. It is evidently part of the rim of a bottle or jar. As far as one can judge, it appears to have been a sepulchral vessel, and resembles those unearthed some years ago, and now deposited in the Caerleon Museum. One fragment of coarse pottery has the potter's mark, Brn, upon it. Fifteen coins have been found. A few are Roman, and much corroded; the others are of a comparatively recent date. A small bronze bracelet, the possession of some Roman matron, has also been discovered.
WEDNESDAY, 20TH JAN. 1892.
This being the day appointed by Her Majesty the Queen for the funeral of H.R.H. the late Duke of Clarence and Avondale, K.G., the officers of the Association decided to put off the Council and evening meetings.
WEDNESDAY, 3RD Feb. 1892.
The following Honorary Correspondents were elected :
Rev. R. H. Clutterbuck, Penton Mewsey Rectory, Hants.
Ernest R. Dawe, Esq., Hatfield Hall, Durham. Thanks were ordered to be returned to the donors of the following works : To the Smithsonian Institute, for “Annual Report of the American His
torical Association, 1889." To Edw. Peacock, Esq., F.S.A., for "Louth Old Corporation Records,"
compiled by R. W. Goulding. 1891. Mr. J. T. Irvine, of Peterborough, sent a series of drawings of ancient tiles, and a sketch of old binding, for exhibition, with the following note:
“I have pleasure in sending thirteen tracings of floor-tiles existing in so much of the floor of the entrance to the old Lady Chapel of Peterborough Cathedral as yet remains in the east aisle of the north transept where it was entered. The curious designs are incised, and no reference at present exists relative to them. Two come from the actual site of the chapel, which was taken down in 1652 by the citi. zens, who having obtained a grant of the Cathedral to be their parish