« ΠροηγούμενηΣυνέχεια »
PRINTED BY HILLIARD AND METCALF,
At the University Press.
DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS, TO WIT.
District Clerk's Office. Be it remembered, that on the fourth day of January, 1826, in the fiftieth year of the Independence of the United States of America, Cummings, Hilliard, & Co. of the said district, have deposited in this office the title of a book, the right whereof they claim as proprietors, in the words following, viz:
“ Elements of Electricity, Magnetism, and Electro-Magnetism, embracing the late Discoveries and Improvements, digested into the form of a Treatise; being the Second Part of a Course of Natural Philosophy, compiled for the use of the Students of the University at Cambridge, New England. By John Farrar, Professor of Mathematics and Natural Philosophy."
In conformity to the act of the Congress of the United States, entitled“ An act for the encouragement of learning, by securing the copies of maps, charts, and books, to the authors and proprietors of such copies, during the times therein mentioned ;” and also to an act, entitled, " An act supplementa ry to an act, entitled, 'An act for the encouragement of learning, by securing the copies of maps, charts, and books, to the authors and proprietors of such copies, during the times thereiu mentioned,' and extending the benefits thereof to the arts of designing, engraving, and etching, historical and other prints."
JNO. W. DAVIS,
This volume, with the exception of the notes, is selected from Biot's Précis Elémentaire de Physique, third edition, printed at Paris in 1824, and translated with such alterations as were found necessary in order to adapt it to the English reader. Notices of a few recent discoveries and improvements, not introduced into the body of the work, are subjoined at the end, with references to publications in which more particular information may be obtained.
A third volume, containing a treatise on Optics, is in the press; this will be followed by a fourth on Astronomy, which will complete the course.
Cambridge, Dec. 23, 1825.