Εικόνες σελίδας
Ηλεκτρ. έκδοση
[ocr errors]

vinegar in the cellar, calling himself a Wine Merchant."1 During a part of the time that Garrick had his vault in Durham Yard his friend Johnson had his "garret in the Strand," at "the Black Boy over against Durham Yard." 2 There was an earlier wine merchant than Garrick in Durham Yard, one Brinsden, whom Voltaire addresses as dear John," wishes "good health and a quick sale of your Burgundy," and shows, by the general tenor of his letter, that in the bright springtime of his genius the great French writer must have been a frequent visitor at "durham's yard by charing cross."

Dutch Church. [See Austin Friars.]


Dyers' Hall, No. 10 DOWGATE HILL. The ancient hall of the Dyers' Company, which stood near the Thames, a short distance west of London Bridge, was destroyed in the Great Fire of 1666. The site is marked by DYERS' HALL Wharf and PIER, immediately west of Old Swan Pier. The hall was not rebuilt, and for several years the Company met at Salters' Hall.3 In 1720 they had their hall next Coldharbour; while Maitland in 1729 says that "the Company has converted one of their houses in Little Elbow Lane, Dowgate Hill, into a hall to transact their business in," 5 which fell down in 1768. The next hall was erected about 1770. It was a tolerably spacious unassuming building, the exterior distinguished by a double flight of steps, but not by any architectural merit. The present hall was rebuilt 1839-1840 (Charles Dyer, architect). Some additions and new alterations were made 1856-1857, by D. A. Corbett, architect. The archives of the Company were destroyed in the Great Fire, but a very curious iron muniment chest is preserved in the hall, and is probably of Flemish manufacture. The Dyers were constituted a Guild in the 4th of Henry VI.6 (1426), and received their Charter of Incorporation 12 Edward IV. (1472). A distinctive privilege granted to the Company is that of having on the Thames a Game of Swans (Deductus Cygnorum), and a special Swan Mark (Cygninota). A similar privilege is possessed by the Vintners' Company. The total number of swans permitted by the Crown on the Thames, as settled in 1877, is about 510, of which 400 are Crown birds, 65 Dyers', and 45 Vintners', but a much less number is now maintained. The mark of the Dyers' Company is " 4 bars 1 nick," that of the Vintners' "letter V and 2 nicks" (corrupted in the well-known tavern sign into the "Swan with 2 necks"), the nicks being cut on the bills of the birds.8

Dyot Street, ST. GILES'S, named after Richard Dyot, Esq., a parishioner of St. Giles-in-the-Fields.

1 Davies's Garrick, vol. i. p. 16.

2 Croker's Boswell, p. 30.

3 Hatton, 1708, p. 601.

4 Strype, B. ii, p. 207.

5 Maitland, p. 605.

6 Strype, B. ii. c. xi. p. 201.

7 Report of Swan Warden of the Dyers

"Curll's Corinna," Mrs. Eliza

Company (Mr. E. C. Robins), 1877.

8 For fuller particulars see "Some Account of the History and Antiquities of the Worshipful Company of Dyers, London," a paper read before the London and Middlesex Archæological Association, by E. C. Robins, F.S.A., Prime Warden, on February 9, 1880.

[ocr errors]


beth Thomas, lived with her mother in this street.1 A friend of Dryden's tracked her to her house "somewhere about St. Giles's," and she printed Dryden's letter in which this is stated with Pope's letters to Cromwell. Even then Dyot Street must have been somewhat disreputable, as she falsely prints the letter as addressed to herself at Great Russell Street, Bloomsbury. At the Black Horse and Turk's Head public-houses in this street, Haggerty and Holloway, in November 1802, planned the murder of Mr. Steele on Hounslow Heath, and here they returned after the murder. At the execution of the murderers, at the Old Bailey in 1807, twenty-eight people were crushed to death. The name was changed from Dyot Street to George Street in consequence of a filthy song which attained wide popularity, but the original name was restored in 1877.

In 1710 there was a certain "Mendicants' Convivial Club" held at the "Welch's Head" in this street. The origin of this club dated as far back as 1660, when its meetings were held at the Three Crowns in the Poultry.—Dr. Rimbault in Notes and Queries, 1st S., vol. i. p. 229.

On the east side of the upper part of Dyot Street are the Model Lodging Houses for forty-eight families, designed, 1849-1850, by Henry Roberts, architect, the first of this sort of structure for the benefit of artisans and others. The entrance is in Streatham Street.

1 Malone's Dryden, vol. ii. p. 97.

2 Scott's Dryden, vol. xviii. p. 166.


Printed by R. & R. CLARK, Edinburgh.


THE ALBERT MEMORIAL. An Illustrated Account of the National Monument erected to the Memory of the PRINCE CONSORT at Kensington. With Descriptive Text. By DOYNE C. BELL. With 24 Plates. Folio, £12: 125.


THE PRINCESS ALICE'S LETTERS TO H.M. THE QUEEN. Containing Extracts, hitherto unpublished, from the Diary of the Queen. With a Memoir by H.R. H. PRINCESS CHRISTIAN. With Portrait. Crown 8vo, 7s. 6d.

OUR VICEREGAL LIFE IN INDIA: being a Selection from my Journal during the years 1884-1888. By the MARCHIONESS OF DUFFERIN. With Map. Crown 8vo, 7s. 6d.


Impressions of

a Tenderfoot during a Journey in search of Sport in the Far West. By Mrs. ALGERNON ST. MAUR. Illustrations. Crown 8vo, 12s.

A NATURALIST'S VOYAGE ROUND THE WORLD IN H.M.S. "BEAGLE.' By CHARLES DARWIN, F.R.S. With 100 Illustrations of the Places visited, chiefly from Sketches by R. T. PRITCHETT. Medium 8vo, 21s. EARLY ADVENTURES IN PERSIA, SUSIANA, AND BABYLONIA. By SIR HENRY LAYARD, G.C.B. Illustrations. 2 vols. Crown 8vo. 24s. STUDIES IN EUROPEAN HISTORY: being ACADEMICAL ADDRESSES by the late Professor Doellinger, D.D. Translated by MARGARET WARRE. With Portrait. 8vo, 14s.

LUX MUNDI: a Series of Studies in the Religion of the Incarnation. By Various Writers. Edited by CHARLES GORE, M.A. Tenth Edition, 8vo,



By the late DEAN BURGON,

B.D. A New Edition, with Portraits of the Author and of the Twelve. 8vo.

[blocks in formation]


Translated into English blank verse. By the

late EARL OF DERBY. Portrait. 2 vols. Post 8vo, 10s.

MANNERS AND CUSTOMS OF THE ANCIENT EGYPTIANS: their Religion, Arts, Laws, Manufactures, &c. By Sir J. GARDNER WILKINSON. Illustrations. 3 vols. 8vo, £4: 4s.

MEMOIRS, DIARIES, AND CORRESPONDENCE OF THE RIGHT HON. J. W. CROKER (Secretary to the Admiralty, 1809 to 1830). Comprising Documents relating to the Chief Events of the first half of the present century. Edited by LOUIS J. JENNINGS, M. P. Portrait. 3 vols. 8vo, 45s. NOTES OF CONVERSATIONS OF THE DUKE OF WELLINGTON WITH THE LATE EARL STANHOPE, 1831-1851. Crown 8vo, 7s. 6d.

THE BATTLE ABBEY ROLL. With some Account of the Norman Lineages. By the Duchess of Cleveland. 3 vols. Fcap. 4to, 48s. LIFE OF MICHEL ANGELO, Sculptor, Painter, and Architect, including unedited Documents in the Buonarroti Archives. By C. HEATH WILSON. Illustrations. 8vo, 15s.

ALBERT DÜRER: a History of his Life and Works. By Dr. THAUSING. Edited by F. A. EATON, Secretary of the Royal Academy. Portrait and Illustrations. 2 vols. Medium 8vo, 42s.

RAPHAEL: his Life and Works, with particular reference to recently discovered Records and extant Drawings and Pictures. By Sir J. A. CROWE and G. B. CAVALCASELLE. 2 vols. 8vo, 30s.

TITIAN: his Life and Times.

CASELLE. Illustrations. 2 vols.

By Sir J. A. CROWE and G. B. CAVAL8vo, 21s.

HANDBOOK TO THE ITALIAN SCHOOLS OF PAINTING. Based on the work of Kugler. Revised by Sir A. H. LAYARD. 140 Illustrations. 2 vols. Crown 8vo, 30s.

HANDBOOK TO THE GERMAN, DUTCH, AND FLEMISH Based on the work of Kugler. Revised by Sir 2 vols. Post 8vo, 24s.

J. A. CROWE. 60 Illustrations.

Illustrations. Post 8vo.

Cimabue to Bassano. By Mrs. JAMESON.

LIVES OF THE EARLY FLEMISH PAINTERS, with Notices of their Works. By Sir J. A. CROWE and G. B. CAVALCASELLE. Illustrations. Post 8vo, 7s. 6d.


« ΠροηγούμενηΣυνέχεια »