Εικόνες σελίδας
PDF
Ηλεκτρ. έκδοση

ERRATA.

ADDITIONS AND CORRECTIONS.

The Territories.-The 41st Congress erected the District of Columbia into a Territory, under the name of "Territory of Columbia."

Stamp Duties.-The last Congress passed an act, "That on and after the first day of October, 1870, the stamp tax imposed in Schedule B, on promissory notes for a less sum than one hundred dollars, and on receipts for any sum of money, or for the payment of any debt, and the stamp tax imposed in Schedule C, on canned and preserved fish, be, and the same are hereby repealed. And no stamp shall be required upon the transfer or assignment of a mortgage, where it or the instrument it secures has been once duly stamped."

Postal Rates and Regulations. The postal arrangements with foreign countries are subject to such frequent changes, that, as given in this work, they should not be relied upon for any great length of time. The rates and regulations for Domestic mail matter, however, can be relied upon at all times.

GAZETTEER.

Middleburgh.-The Young People's Moral Association, of Huntersland, was organized in the summer of 1871, and now numbers 70 members. The Association publishes a literary journal, called the Leisure Hour, which is edited by Alice Sweet. This society, we are informed, is in a very prosperous condition.

Schoharie.-The following was furnished to us by Almerin Gallup, Esq., of

Schoharie:

"OLD STONE FORT CEMETERY, SCHOHARIE, N. Y.-The old stone Fort,standing on the grounds of the Cemetery, and situate one mile north-east of the Schoharie County Court House, on the hill near Fox's Creek, (of which you have a splendid view from the rail road as you approach the village of Schoharie) was formerly the German High Dutch Reformed church, and used for more than 70 years for Divine worship by that congregation. It was built in 1772, (one hundred years ago,) and during the Revolution was used as a fort, and often times as a place of safety for the entire families of the early settlers for miles around, of whom we may safely say there is none now living, 'no not one,' but the remains of many are now resting in their graves in the adjoining Cemetery surrounding the old Fort, among which is that of Col. Peter Vroman, who commanded the Fort, and many of his brave companions in arms. In 1780 it was attacked by the Indians and Tories, under the command of Johnson and Brant, and the holes made by cannon ball are still plainly to be seen. The old Fort is a substantial, well built building, and is still in a good state of preservation; it is now owned and used by the State as an Arsenal, and is to be preserved as a relic of the Revolution and in memory of the brave men who displayed their courage and patriotism in defending their country in the fearful struggle for American Independence. It has long been in contemplation to have the remains of David Williams, (one of the captors of Major Andre,) who died in this County, removed to the Old Stone Fort Cemetery, and a suitable monument erected to his memory; also that of Col. Vroman and others. The Old Stone Fort Cemetery was duly incorporated as a Rural Cemetery under the laws of the State in 1859, but the grounds were sadly neglected until 1868, when the inhabitants were aroused to a sense of their duty to the departed, a new board of trustees were elected, consisting of Doctor Peter

[blocks in formation]

S. Swart, Almerin Gallup, George Lasher, Daniel Larkin, Paul Deitz, James S. Waterbury, Napoleon Clark and others, under whose direction it was surveyed and laid out into lots of 20 feet square, with suitable carriage ways and walks, additional lands purchased, and a large number of balsam, fir and other evergreen trees, set out, which are now in a flourishing condition and will soon make it one of the most beautiful Cemetery sites in the country. A very large number of lots have been sold within the last four years, and many people, for several miles round, are removing the remains from their private burial grounds to this Cemetery, which now contains a Vault, and some of the finest and most costly monuments in the County."

BUCKEYE Mower and Self-Raking Reaper, the most Perfect Harvester in the World.

Adriance, Platt & Co., 165 Greenwich St., New York.

See Card on Map.

DIRECTORY.

Blenheim.-HAGER, DEWITT C., (North Blenheim,) supt. of the poor and far

mer 100.

Broome.-REED, ELLIS S., (Broome Center,) farmer.
Carlisle, Taylor, Chas. W., (Carlisle,) post master.

Cobleskill.-*FEECK, JOHN, (Cobleskill,) carriage maker.
Guernsey, James J., (East Cobleskill,) post master.

Conesville.-COUCHMAN, PETER, (Conesville,) supervisor, member of Assembly, post master, dairyman and farmer 100.

master.

Esperance.-MESSINGER, STORRS, (Esperance,) (Messinger & Brazee,) post Gilboa.-Zeh, Philip J., (Gilboa,) coroner, physician and surgeon. Richmondville.-Snyder, Peter, (Richmondville,) prop. Westover House, corner Main and Summit. Westover House, (Richmondville,) corner Main and Summit, Peter Snyder, prop. Schoharie.-Williams, James O., (Schoharie,) county treasurer and cashier Schoharie Co. National Bank.

Sharon.-Baker, Albert, (Sharon Springs,) district attorney.

[blocks in formation]

THE STATES,

THEIR SETTLEMENT, ADMITTANCE TO THE UNION, POPULATION, SUFFRAGE LAWS, ETC.

[ocr errors]

ALABAMA was settled near Mobile, in 1702, by the French; was formed into a Territory by act of Congress, approved March 3, 1817, from the eastern portion of the Territory of Mississippi; framed a Constitution August 2, 1819, and was admitted into the Union December 14 of the same year. Area 50,722 square miles, or 32,462,080 acres. Population in 1860, 964,201, of whom 435,080 were slaves. It is the chief cotton growing State of the Union: White male citizens who have resided one year in the State and three months in the county, are entitled to vote. An election for a Convention was held December 24, 1860, and a majority of over 50,000 votes cast for secession; the Convention met January 7, 1861, and on the 11th passed the ordinance of secession, by a vote of 61 to 39, which was followed on the 21st by the resignation of its members of Congress.

ARKANSAS was settled at Arkansas Post in 1685, by the French, and was part of the Louisiana purchase ceded by France to the United States, April 30, 1803. It was formed into a Territory by act of Congress, March 2, 1819, from the southern part of the Territory of Missouri; its western_boundary was settled May 26, 1824, and its southern, May 19, 1828. Having adopted a Constitution, a memorial was presented in Congress, March 1, 1836, and an act for its admission into the Union passed June 15 of the same year. Area 52,198 square miles, or 33,406,720 acres. In 1860 its population was 435,450, of whom 111,115 were slaves. It is an agricultural State, its staples being corn and cotton.Citizenship and residence in the State for six months, qualify voters in the county and district where they reside. January 16, 1861, its Legislature ordered a State Convention, which assembled, and on May 6, voted to secede, 69 to 1. January 4, 1864, a Convention assembled in Little Rock, which adopted a new Constitution, the principle feature of which consisted in a clause abolishing slavery. The Convention adjourned January 22. This body also inaugurated a Provisional Government. The Constitution was submitted to the people, and 12,177 votes cast for it, to 226 against it. The State was re-organized under the plan contained in the Amnesty Proclamation of President LINCOLN, in pursuance of which an election was held March 14, 1864. The vote required under the Proclamation was 5,405. About 16,000 votes were cast.

B

« ΠροηγούμενηΣυνέχεια »