Εικόνες σελίδας
PDF
Ηλεκτρ. έκδοση

and other objects of local interest wherewith to make the building instructive to the townspeople and attractive to visitors.

For example, there are nine stained glass windows of ambitious proportions and design, Their total cost, we understand, has been between £1,200 and £1.500, but all are gifts from inhabitants or others interested in the town. Three of these windows are in the Moot Hall, or large Assembly Room. In these three windows will be found a sort of summary of the history of Colchester for over 1900 years. The wheat-ear, emblem of the British Cymbeline or Cunobelinus, who reigned at Colchester in the early years of the Christian era, surmounts the first of the series His sons Guiderius and Caractacus are also represented, and there are medallion portraits of Claudius, Constantius, Constantine, Athelstan, Adelbright, Edward the Elder, and other monarchs associated with the town in British, Roman, and Saxon times. A second window represents, armorially and otherwise, the history of the town subsequent to the Norman Conquest. Here are the arms of the Kings who visited the town or granted its more important charters; the shield of Eudo and of St. John's Abbey; the curious heraldic device which symbolised the weaving trade; and in the place of honour a portrait of Richard I., who, in 1189, granted the town the first municipal charter of which there is record. Nor is Colchester's important product, the native oyster, forgotten, for it appears with quaint but artistic pictorial effect throughout the decorative border. The third window of this series is devoted to Queens who have honoured Colchester in various ways, from Boadicea to Queen Victoria. This window was presented by the ladies of Colchester. Our illustration gives some idea of how this window and its two companion windows have been treated.

We also give pictures of the three windows of the finely proportioned Council Chamber. Their beautiful colouring must be seen to be appreciated. It is most creditable to Messrs. Powell and Sons, of the Whitefriars Glass Works.

The "Huguenot Window" is about as perfect a window of its kind as one can imagine. It was given by Mr. Wilson Marriage, Mayor of Colchester and Chairman of the Town Hall Committee. It commemorates the welcome given by the Town of Colchester to French Huguenots and Dutch and Flemish Refugees, who, in the reign of Queen Elizabeth, fled from the persecution in their

[graphic][subsumed]

From a Photograph by Mr. E. N. Mason.

THE HUGUENOT WINDOW.

PRESENTED BY THE MAYOR (ALDERMAN WILSON MARRIAGE J.P.)

respective Countries; also the establishment by them in Colchester of the manufacture of the woollen material known as "Bays and Says." The window shows the Arms of Queen Elizabeth at the top, and those of France and Brabant the province whence many of the Flemings came-on either side. In the centre a female figure, emblematic of the Town of Colchester, is depicted extending a welcome to the Refugees. In the background, to the left, is seen Colchester Castle, on the right is the River Colne, with the three vessels contributed by Colchester to form part of the fleet which repelled the Spanish Armada. Beneath the main scene is a secondary picture showing the interior of a weaver's house; the craftsman at his loom is copied from an old Colchester Trade Token; his wife and children are going to receive the Dutch minister who is entering the door. Through a window is seen All Saints' Church, which was set apart by the authorities as a place of worship for the use of the Dutch congregation. Beneath this picture are the Arms of Colchester with the motto, "No Cross, No Crown," and the following inscription :

"To keep in remembrance the hospitality extended by the Town of
Colchester to the Huguenot Refugees in the 16th and 17th
Centuries; and the establishment by them of the manufacture
of Bays and Says' which flourished for more than two hun-
dred years to the great advantage of the inhabitants, this
window was presented by WILSON MARRIAGE, Portreeve of
Colchester, A.D. 1901.”

On either side are shown the donor's arms, and the badge of the Portreeve of Colchester-viz, a raven.

[ocr errors]

The Claudius and Helena Windows were given respectively by Mr. Claude Egerton-Green, Deputy Mayor of Colchester, and his wife, Mrs (Helen) Egerton-Green. Claudius was the founder of the Roman colony which existed for several centuries at Colchester. Helena's connection with the town has already been mentioned.

The other stained windows were given by Mrs. William Hawkins, of Alresford, Sir Claude de Crespigny (a heraldic window), and Miss M. J. Catchpool-in memory of her brother, Richard Catchpool of Reading (native of Colchester), whose liberality led to the foundation of Colchester's Public Library and Public Park. The curious old seals of Colchester (see illustrations) and the quaint ward maces of the 17th Century

are portrayed in stained glass in the swinging doors. of the main corridor. Mr. Charles R. Gurney Hoare is the donor.

As to the pictures in the new building, our space is inadequate to do them justice. The best that we can do is to give a list of some of the more interesting and important, for a knowledge of the collection should be of value to those engaged in local historical work. The principal portraits, most of them oil paintings, are as follows:

Sir F. Walsingham, Recorder of Colchester; died 1590.
Arthur Barnardiston (after Lely), Recorder, 1649.
Sir Harbottle Grimston (given by Mr. Round, M.P.).
Charles Gray, M.P., died 1782 (from the same donor).

Sir Charles Lucas, executed after the Siege of Colchester, 1648.

Sir George Lisle, who shared his fate.

Lord Capel, executed for his share in the Siege, 1649.

Sir William Campion, killed during the Siege.

Lord and Lady Fairfax (a copy of the large picture in the National Portrait Gallery).

Sir Thomas Honywood and his wife (original portraits from Marks Hall). Mary Honywood, the famous heroine of the "Vase Story." This also is the original picture (engraved in Chambers's Book of Days) from Marks

Hall.

Rev. Philip Morant, the historian of Essex.

Lord Goring, afterwards Earl of Norwich, head of the defending force in the

Siege.

Dr. William Gilberd, of Colchester, Queen Elizabeth's physician, and the first

Electrician.

Oil paintings of former Mayors, including John Potter (168), John King (1775), William Sparling (1805), George Bawtree (1838), John Chaplin (1836). Dr. R. Nunu (1843), Charles H. Hawkins (1848, etc.), John Kent (1879), Horace G. Egerton Green (1887 and 1897). John Bawtree Harvey (1886) Alfred Francis (1884); also paintings of Charles Gray Round (by John Lucas, George Henry Errington (by Cyrus Johnson).

There are also large photographic portraits of many other Mayors of modern times, including Philip O. Papillon (also M.P.), J. F. Bishop (many times Mayor), Henry Wolton, &c.

An oil portrait of Benjamin R. Cant, the eminent Colchester rosarian, will grow in interest with time and the fame of Colchester roses, which he did so much to establish. Another portrait in oils, of the late Alderman E. Beard, is additionally interesting as being the clever work of Frank Daniell, of Colchester, whose many other portraits in this building

[graphic][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][merged small]

PRESENTED BY THE DEPUTY-MAYOR (COUNCILLOR CLAUDE E. EGERTON

GREEN, J.P.)

« ΠροηγούμενηΣυνέχεια »