Εικόνες σελίδας
PDF
Ηλεκτρ. έκδοση

MARLBOROUGH COLLEGE.

FOUNDED 1843, A.D. This collegiate institution (incorporated by a charter in 1845, by an additional charter in 1853), was originally designed for the of clergymen, but by the first charter it was provided that one-thir the whole number of pupils might be sons of laymen, and that 1 portion has by the second charter been extended to one half of number.

By the bye-laws the number of pupils is limited to five hund who are not admitted under nine years of age or above fouru and they are not allowed to remain after eighteen years of age, exi with the master's permission. No pupil who may be so permittet remain, shall be elected to an exhibition, if he shall have comple his nineteenth year on or before the first day of January next bef the examination.

There are six Exhibitions permanently founded, three of £50, three of £40 a year, tenable for three years at any college or hall Oxford or Cambridge. One exhibition of each class is vacant annuall

WORCESTERSHIRE,

STOURBRIDGE.
THE FREE GRAMMAR-SCHOOL.

FOUNDED 1553, A.D. King EDWARD VI. in the sixth year of his reign, at the reques of the inhabitants of the town of Stourbridge, and parish of Oi Swinford and others, issued letters patent for founding the free-schoo there, “for the education, teaching, instruction, and learning, of boy and youths in grammar.”

The letters patent appoint eight governors to be a body corporate. and order that all the issues and revenues of the endowment should be applied to the support of the master and usher, and to no other uses whatsoever.

Certain orders and rules were made and approved by the Bishop of Worcester and the governors in the reign of Charles I. and were revised about the year 1700 : and among other things it was ordered, that if the schoolmaster or usher should offend, either by wilful neglect of the statutes, or "by not applying themselves with diligence to the teaching and governing of the scholars, or if it should be found their

cholars did not profit under them, or that they had not the gift of sching" after admonition, they should be removed.

1667. Joseph Baker, by his will, gave a certain interest he possed, in trust, and directed his trustees to dispose of the profits of, to some pious uses, and particularly, if it might be, to the aintenance of a Scholar in one of the Universities for five years. The istees by indenture, agreed with the governors of the school, to ant a rent-charge of £3 a year out of certain property in Worcester a scholar in one of the Universities, to be held for five years, and

another to be appointed for five years, and so on for ever. As the governors have considered their choice restricted to the boys Icated in the free grammar-school, long periods have sometimes psed, during which no proper object for the benefaction has been and. Iu December, 1830, there was a balance of £37. 118. 8d. in bands of the treasurer.

WORCESTER.
THE CATHEDRAL SCHOOL.

FOUNDED 1541, A.D. This school was founded at the time the cathedral was erected by ary VIII. for forty poor scholars, and its endowment is contained the general funds granted for the support of the cathedral. ProviB was originally made for supporting twelve scholars to study rinity at the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge, each of whom

then to receive the statutable allowance of £6. 78. 4d. per annum;

the chapter are said to have been released from this obligation the surrender of certain manors and rectories to the crown.

YORKSHIRE.

BEVERLEY.

THE FREE GRAMMAR-SCHOOL. The school at Beverley is of very ancient date, and probably was eval with the collegiate society of St John, and from time imme. orial has been a free-school for the instruction of the sons of the hurases of the town in grammar learning.

There are no statutes or other regulations than such as are made by 2e schoolmaster, with the approbation of the patrons, who are the embers of the corporation.

1526. Mr Halitreholme founded a Fellowship at St John's ( lege, for one born in the town of Beverley, or in some town near and educated at the school there. (See p. 306.)

1526. Lady Rokeby founded a Scholarship at St John's Colle for a person born in Beverley, and brought up at the school thi (See p. 307.)

1628. Mrs Margaret Darcy gave a sum of money for an Exh tion at St John's College, to be held by a student from Beverley sch (See p. 316.)

1652. Robert Metcalfe, D.D. one of the senior fellows of Trin College, Cambridge, by his will, devised to the mayor, aldermen, a burgesses of Beverley, as trustees, an estate at Guilden Morden, Cambridgeshire, and directed that they should employ the rents yea in paying £10 a year to the preacher or lecturer of the town of I verley, £10 a year to the schoolmaster of the free-school, and £20 a year to three poor scholars of the same school, naturally born in town, such scholars to be appointed and approved by the may aldermen, and burgesses, and by the lecturer and schoolmaster, their better maintenance at the University of Cambridge ; and the sa maintenance to be continued until they shall take the degree of Maste of Arts, if they so long continue students at the University, and upp condition that they take the said degree at the due time within eig! years after their admission into the University. But should there nu be such three poor scholars at the University, or ready to go there, wl should stand in need of that maintenance, and be poor men's sons (an not the sons of any of the aldermen, or of any other that are of sufficier ability) who should not be able otherwise to maintain their childre there ; then what can be spared of the said £20 (no poor scholar hay ing above £6. 13s. 4d. yearly) shall be distributed among the poores people of the town of Beverley, on the 20th of December yearly, or the day before or after, as may be thought most convenient by the mayo: and lecturer.

1669. Mrs Margaret Farrer, a native of Beverley, gave by will £150, with which lands were bought by the corporation, and out of the rents she directed that £2 of the annual amount should be paid for the education of an honest man's son” of Beverley, at the free-school: and £3 towards his maintenance at the University, until such time as he shall commence Master of Arts.

1670. W. Lacie, D.D. founded two Scholarships at St John's College, for two scholars born in Beverley, and educated at the free. school there. (See p. 319)

1675. Robert Clerk, B.D., a native of Beverley, and senior fellow of St John's College, gave to that college £200 for the founding of a Scholarship for a native of Beverley, with respect first to his kindred d the name of Clerk, and then of Johnson. (See p. 320.)

1697. Mr William Coates, one of the capital burgesses, by his will

, gave £100 to the corporation of Beverley, to be put out to interest

months after the decease of his mother, Mrs Elizabeth Coates, for the use of one poor scholar, born in St Mary's parish, and educated in ine grammar-school, towards his maintenance in the University ; and for want of such, to be given to the poor.

1778. John Green, bishop of Lincoln, founded an Exhibition for student at Corpus Christi College or St John's College, from Beverley school (See pp. 260, 323.)

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

BOWES.
THE FREE GRAMMAR-SCHOOL.

FOUNDED 1693, A.D. This school was founded and endowed by William Hutchinson, - Esq. of Clement's Inn, London, and designed to be a grammar-school

for the education of the sons of the inhabitants of the town. By a scheme obtained from the Court of Chancery in 1845, pupils are not admissible to the school from a greater distance than 20 miles from Bowes.

1770. Rev. Charles Parkin founded some Scholarships at Pembroke College, Cambridge, one of which is for a scholar educated at the free school of Bowes, if there be one properly qualified. The candidate must have been two years at least at the school before removing to the University, where he may hold his scholarship for seven years. (See p. 224.)

DONCASTER.

THE GRAMMAR-SCHOOL. This school was founded and endowed soon after the dissolution of the monasteries. The endowments are vested in the corporation, who appoint the schoolmaster. The school is open to the sons of freemen for a classical education free of expense.

1734. John Mawherd founded a Scholarship at Jesus College for a poor scholar from Doncaster or Arksey school. (See p. 289.)

a

KK

FOCKERBY.

THE FREE GRAMMAR-SCHOOL.

FOUNDED 1661, A.D.

This school was founded and endowed by Robert Skerne, Esg who also founded eight Scholarships for scholars going from thence St Catharine's Hall, Cambridge. (See p. 279.)

1743. Mrs Mary Ramsden founded six Fellowships and ten Sche larships at St Catharine's Hall; and of the candidates, in case of cancies, the best qualified men born in the county of York are to preferred, and principally those who, being Yorkshiremen, have been educated at the grammar-school of Fockerby.

GIGGLESWICK.
THE FREE GRAMMAR-SCHOOL

FOUNDED 1553, A.D. This school was founded by letters patent of King Edward at the petition of John Nowell, clerk, then his majesty's chaplain vicar of Giggleswick, and other inhabitants of the parish, and endove with lands which now produce a revenue exceeding £1000 per annum

The letters patent appoint eight governors of the school and cot stitute them a body corporate, with perpetual succession, and able hold lands and possessions.

Four or five small sums at different times were left to the governce of the school for poor scholars from within the parish of Giggleswid and educated at the grammar-school, towards their maintenance some college in Cambridge.

The governors of the school at the present time grant one Exhibition of about £40 every year, without any restriction as to the claimants or the University, or college, to which the exhibitioner proceeds.

1616. Rev. R. Carr founded two Fellowships and two Scholar ships at Christ's College, for poor scholars from the free-school of Gig. gleswick, provided they be fit for the University. (See p. 297.)

There are also Scholarships at Oxford appropriated to studers from Giggleswick school.

« ΠροηγούμενηΣυνέχεια »