« ΠροηγούμενηΣυνέχεια »
the two upper runs of steps leading The rails and balusters are connected from the broad terrace to the second with the projecting front of the buildstory. The corbels are richly carved with a well-sculptured head of Jupiter on the south, and Mercury on the north, in the upper sections, surrounded by foliage, and the lower section is carved in ribs of various forms with foliage at intervals lapping over the
"It will be borne in mind that all the material used in this great approach is of finely-wrought granite from the Hallowell Granite Works quarries, and that the work has been done with the greatest care and precision and superior to any other granite work in this country.
"Commencing at a point of the pedestals at the junction of the outer limit of the circle of the terrace and the balustrade of the roadway on the north and south sides, the balustrade extends a distance of 78 feet on each side to the lower pedestal of the roadway, and each is divided into four bays filled with balusters. On the opposite side the total distance is 130 feet. From thence to the north and south porticoes the distance is 146 feet, making a total of 552 feet of terrace.
"The balustrade commencing at the pedestals at the foot of the first run of steps is carried along between the pedestals and along the terrace and down the retaining wall of the roadway to the lower pedestals on the north and south sides of the approach.
ing and continue along the terrace and down the steps from the sidewalk and connect with the newel posts, and along on the north and south sides of the building and connect with the porticoes. The rails start from the pedestals of the two upper runs of steps and continue up and around the bays formed by the great corbels, and up to and connecting with the projecting walls of the building. The total length of the balustrade is 1,150 lineal feet, each baluster being nine inches in diameter. The balustrade will be one of the prominent features in this great work, viewed from the various points. The various slopes, curves and levels of the balustrade to the roadway, terraces and steps, when viewed from all positions, will present a most charming appearance.
"The entire work of the approach and the center section of the eastern façade when completed will add dignity and prominence to the structure."
THE FOURTH FLOOR.
In the fourth floor of the Capitol are the five offices of the Regents of the University, of the Capitol Commissioner, the Board of Mediation and Arbitration, the Civil Service Commission, the Forestry Commission, the State Entomologist, the Factory Inspector and the Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
POPULATION OF THE STATE.
The Growth of the State From 1880 to 1890.
According to the United States census of 1880 the population of the State of New York was 5,082,87 Under the United States census of 1890 the population returned was 5,997,853, an increase of 914,982, or 1 per cent during the decade.
The following summary shows the population of each county according to the censuses of 1890 and 1880, together with the increase or decrease during the decade:
The following figures give the returns of the enumerators filed with the various County Clerks.
POPULATION OF COUNTIES BY MINOR CIVIL DIVISIONS.
In the tables given below, the population of each county is shown by minor civil divisions. The United States census authorities state that in some few instances it has been impossible to separate the popula tion of villages from the population of the towns in which they are located. This is partly." they state, "owing to the fact that village limits are not distinctly drawn, and partly to the manner in which the schedules were returned by the enumerators." Below is the population of New York by minor civil divisions:
Population by Minor Civil Divisions.
MINOR CIVIL DIVISIONS. 1890. 1880. MINOR CIVIL DIVISIONS.
a Not separately returned; in Persia town, Cattaraugus county, and Collins town, Erie county. b Not separate.y returned.
e Estimated in 1880.
d Jamestown city, formerly in Ellicott town, incorporated since 1880.